New board leadership and members for Hui E!

There’s fresh energy and new and diverse perspectives ahead after changes to Hui E!’s board.

Three new trustees were voted in by the organisation’s formal network Mema Whanaungatanga; and two new co-chairs will be stepping up.

The new co-chairs are:  

  • Iris Pahau, Tangata Whenua  
  • Sarah Doherty, Tangata Tiriti  

The new board members are:   

  • Andrea Jerry Ryan, Tangata Whenua 
  • Prabha Ravi, Tangata Tiriti 
  • Sarah Morris, Tangata Tiriti 

The Hui E! board operates a Treaty Relationship Framework model based on the spirit of partnership outlined in Te Titiri o Waitangi; there are equal members from Tangata Whenua and Tangata Tiriti and agreed tikanga for collective decision-making.  

Tangata Whenua member Pania Coote and Tangata Tiriti members Sandy Thompson and Charlie Moore reached the end of their tenure last month.  

Incoming co-chair Iris Pahau thanked the retiring board members for their extensive contribution over the years. 

“The leadership of our outgoing Trustees has set Hui E! on a solid foundation and provided positive momentum for our future,” said Pahau.  

Incoming Tangata Tiriti co-chair Sarah Doherty said there was a high calibre of nominated candidates for the board vacancies.  

 “We are look forward to working with the new board members who bring their exceptional skills and expertise to our Board.” 

New Hui E! board members  

Andrea Jerry Ryan, Tangata Whenua 

As an advocate, advisor, connector, and parent who has travelled the world, Andrea is passionate about reducing inequities and disparities for Māori across all sectors. She is interested in the preventative measures rather than reactive and looks at the big picture in how to guide Māori with tino rangatiratanga. 

Andrea is respectful in particular to Kaumātua, outcome focused and optimistic. She adopts an innovative based approach to work and strives to create opportunities for others to flourish and thrive. Andrea has an affinity with Kaumātua and our babies, and another passion is to preserve Te Ao Māori by sharing her beautiful culture. 

Prabha Ravi

Prabha Ravi, Tangata Tiriti 

Prabha is an experienced art practitioner and administrator. She is the founder, producer, director, and choreographer of Natraj School of Dance. Prabha’s work and contribution to dance and the ethnic community has been recognised by the community including receiving a QSM. She currently works for a government agency. 

Prabha is a facilitator, coach, mentor, assessor, presenter, panel speaker and an experienced governor and sits on various Not-for-Profit boards. She never hesitates to represent the community effectively where needed and is a strong advocate of diversity and inclusion across all sectors. Based in Te Whanganui-a-Tara/Wellington. 

Sarah Morris, Tangata Tiriti 

Sarah Morris works for the Aotearoa New Zealand Children’s Commissioner, advocating for the interests, rights and wellbeing of children and young people.

Drawn to social justice through storytelling, Sarah trained as a journalist before moving abroad and establishing a successful career in international development. She has worked for international aid agencies like Oxfam and UNICEF supporting community development projects in Africa, Asia and the Pacific.

After returning home to Aotearoa New Zealand in 2008, Sarah reoriented her career to children’s rights advocacy. 

Sarah has run her own consultancy business supporting non-government organisations and charitable trusts working for social and environmental justice.

Sarah is fired up about supporting community champions to fulfill the vision of Te Tiriti o Waitangi, Māori self-determination and social and environmental justice. Based in Te Awakairangi, Sarah is mum to two spectacular daughters.

You can read more about Iris Pahau and Sarah Doherty on Our People page.